endometriosis stages

Understanding the Different Stages of Endometriosis 

Endometriosis is a condition that affects nearly 10% of women in the United States. It occurs when tissue similar to the lining of the uterus grows outside the uterus, causing pain and other symptoms. The severity of endometriosis can vary from person to person and impact the treatment strategy. So it’s essential to know the different stages of endometriosis and how they affect your body. Here we review the most common classification of endometriosis introduced by ASRM (American Society for Reproductive Medicine.)

Stage 1 Endometriosis (Minimal): superficial small lesions or implants outside the uterus or near pelvic organs.  

Stage 2 Endometriosis (Mild): encompasses more and deeper implants in the pelvic area. 

Stage 3 Endometriosis (Moderate): This is a deep infiltrating endometriosis stage. In this stage, many deep implants are in the pelvic area and other body parts. There are small cysts on one or both ovaries. Some adhesions are present in the abdomen and pelvis. 

Stage 4 Endometriosis (Severe): A deep infiltrating endometriosis stage. This is the most severe stage. There are many deep lesions, large cysts on one or both ovaries, and dense abdomen and pelvis adhesions.

Three types of endometriosis

Knowing what stage of endometriosis you have can help you understand your condition better and guide your doctor in developing an appropriate treatment plan. If you suspect you have endometriosis, make sure to speak with your gynecologist for proper diagnosis and treatment. No matter what stage you are at with your endometriosis diagnosis, good management will help improve your quality of life and reduce pain and long-term complications from this condition.

How to Find an Endometriosis Specialist for Diagnosis, Treatment, & Surgery

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Latest Endometriosis Articles

Join our newsletter

Your information will be used to communicate with you and will not be shared with any 3rd party